News Archive

Monday 28 July 2014
Positive feedback on the chart after testing in three Scottish Health Boards. more
Tuesday 13 May 2014
Testing of the chart is underway in NHS Tayside, NHS Highland, and NHS Western Isles. more
Thursday 03 April 2014
Standardised Chart Aims To Reduce Prescribing Errors: low-cost solution could deliver major patient safety gains more
Wednesday 19 February 2014
We’re looking for enthusiastic Foundation Doctors with an interest in patient safety to represent trainee doctors on the SPARS working group. more
Tuesday 11 February 2014
The SPARS chart has been printed in preparation of the testing phase. Please contact b.jackson@rcpe.ac.uk if you would like a copy. more
Tuesday 08 October 2013
Speakers at the Safe Prescribing and Administration of Medicines in Scottish Hospitals Symposium have kindly given permission for their slides to be uploaded to help healthcare professionals improve... more
Tuesday 01 October 2013
In conjunction with the Safe Prescribing and Administration of Medicines in Scottish Hospitals Symposium, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh released a press statement highlighting the... more
Friday 20 September 2013
Thank you to everyone who provided feedback on the draft SPARS prescription chart. The SPARS project members have reviewed your comments and updated the chart in consideration of the consultation... more
Monday 24 June 2013
A draft SPARS prescription chart has been circulated to each NHS Board, doctors in training, and Directors of Medicine, Pharmacy and Nursing for feedback to help refine the chart before testing it in... more
Monday 20 May 2013
On 1 October 2013, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh are holding an event exploring hospital prescriptions errors, patient safety, the role of clinical pharmacy, incident reporting and... more